

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS

"To Enrich Lives Through Effective and Caring Service"

900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331 Telephone: (626) 458-5100 http://dpw.lacounty.gov

ADDRESS ALL CORRESPONDENCE TO: P.O. BOX 1460 ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460

IN REPLY PLEASE

REFER TO FILE: CGRG-0

December 1, 2022

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House United States House of Representatives

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader United States House of Representatives

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Speaker Pelosi, and Minority Leaders McConnell and McCarthy:

WATER RESOURCES DEVELOPMENT ACT OF 2022

Biennial consideration of the Water Resources Development Act (WRDA) ensures flood protection, water conservation, and recreation for millions of Angelenos that are served by the Los Angeles County Flood Control District and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. On behalf of the County of Los Angeles, we urge final passage of WRDA 2022 before the end of the 117th Congress.

We applaud the inclusion of a provision for the Los Angeles County Drainage Area which will help the County to meet its water resiliency and flood risk reduction goals. As we experience more extreme weather and the impacts of climate change, we know that we must operate our existing infrastructure more efficiently. WRDA 2022 provides the County with the tools to do just that. We appreciate the strong support of our

congressional delegation, including Congressmember Napolitano and Senators Feinstein and Padilla for working on this provision.

Thank you for your continued support of the bi-annual WRDA process.

Very truly yours,

MARK PESTRELLA, PE Director of Public Works

JRO:al

P:\CGRGPub\General\LETTERS\WRDA2022

cc: House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee (The Honorable Peter DeFazio)
House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee (The Honorable Sam Graves)
Senate Environment & Public Works Committee (The Honorable Tom Carper)
Senate Environment & Public Works Committee (The Honorable Shelley Moore
Capito)

U.S. House of Representatives (The Honorable Grace Napolitano)

U.S. Senate (The Honorable Alex Padilla)

Frelli

U.S. Senate (The Honorable Diane Feinstein)