Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

February 11, 2025

The Honorable Sean Duffy Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave., SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary Duffy:

We write to express our strong opposition to the U.S. Department of Transportation's suspension of State electric vehicle infrastructure deployment plans and rescission of guidance issued by the Department used to stand up the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) program.

These two actions retroactively purge a federal highway formula program for which all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico have already been given their apportionments and wipe out years of work by states to meet a Congressional mandate. DOT's direction that States may no longer obligate any apportioned funds directly contradicts the statute and the federal highway funding process, designed to provide certainty and stability in transportation construction.

Congress authorized and funded, through FY2026, the NEVI program in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA). Congress allocated funding through a statutory formula to "strategically deploy electric vehicle (EV) charging infrastructure and to establish an interconnected network to facilitate data collection, access, and reliability" (P.L. 117-58).

Every state, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico developed plans in 2022, which the Federal Highway Administration approved. States are now planning and executing projects, signing contracts, supporting American manufacturing and creating jobs.

As Democrats, we support cleaner, greener, safer, more accessible infrastructure—and the NEVI program is a step in the right direction to meet these goals. As Members of Congress, we will fiercely defend investments enacted on a bipartisan basis by elected officials from across the country. Actions taken by the Department over the last two weeks show a blatant disregard for Congress, for the law, for the state and for the local partners who deliver infrastructure projects, and for American workers.

We strongly urge you to rethink and rescind this damaging action. We look forward to receiving your ideas to change transportation programs through a transparent, bipartisan, and thoughtful reauthorization process.

Sincerely,

ik Zaner

Rick Larsen Ranking Member Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

tere Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

ma /itas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

neis Koromen

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Serrold Hadlen

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Janannendi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Frederica > Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Mall 9

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Starto

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

f schotte

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

10.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

acine P.In

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Nellie Pou

Nember of Congress

i'y m

Shomari Figures Member of Congress

Jaun Friedra

Laura Friedman Member of Congress