Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Highways and Transit

Membership 114th Congress

Subcommittee Ranking Member

Eleanor Norton
District of Columbia ~ 00

Democratic Members

Jerrold Nadler
New York ~ 10

Eddie Johnson
Texas ~ 30

Steve Cohen
Tennessee ~ 09

Albio Sires
New Jersey ~ 08

Donna Edwards
Maryland ~ 04

Janice Hahn
California ~ 44

Richard Nolan
Minnesota ~ 08

Ann Kirkpatrick
Arizona ~ 01

Dina Titus
Nevada ~ 01

Sean Maloney
New York ~ 18

Elizabeth Esty
Connecticut ~ 05

Lois Frankel
Florida ~ 22

Cheri Bustos
Illinois ~ 17

Jared Huffman
California ~ 02

Julia Brownley
California ~ 26

Michael Capuano
Massachusetts ~ 07

Grace Napolitano
California ~ 32

Corrine Brown
Florida ~ 05

Daniel Lipinski
Illinois ~ 03

Peter DeFazio
Oregon ~ 04


Sam Graves
Missouri ~ 06

Republican Members

Don Young
Alaska ~ 00

John Duncan
Tennessee ~ 02

John Mica
Florida ~ 07

Frank LoBiondo
New Jersey ~ 02

Duncan Hunter
California ~ 50

Eric Crawford
Arkansas ~ 01

Lou Barletta
Pennsylvania ~ 11

Blake Farenthold
Texas ~ 27

Bob Gibbs
Ohio ~ 07

Richard Hanna
New York ~ 22

Daniel Webster
Florida ~ 10

Jeff Denham
California ~ 10

Reid Ribble
Wisconsin ~ 08

Thomas Massie
Kentucky ~ 04

Tom Rice
South Carolina ~ 07

Mark Meadows
North Carolina ~ 11

Scott Perry
Pennsylvania ~ 04

Rodney Davis
Illinois ~ 13

Rob Woodall
Georgia ~ 07

John Katko
New York ~ 24

Brian Babin
Texas ~ 36

Cresent Hardy
Nevada ~ 04

Ryan Costello
Pennsylvania ~ 06

Garret Graves
Louisiana ~ 06

Mimi Walters
California ~ 45

Barbara Comstock
Virginia ~ 10

Bill Shuster
Pennsylvania ~ 09

The Subcommittee on Highways and Transit has responsibility for the development of national surface transportation policy, construction and improvement of highway and transit facilities, implementation of highway and transit safety programs and research activities, and regulation of commercial motor vehicle operations. Within this scope of responsibilities, the Subcommittee has jurisdiction over many U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) programs, including the following:

  • Federal-aid Highway Program administered by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
  • Federal transit programs administered by the Federal Transit Administration (FTA)
  • Highway safety grants and research programs administered by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
  • Commercial motor vehicle safety programs and regulations administered by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
  • Surface transportation research administered by FHWA, FTA, FMCSA, NHSTA and coordinated through the Office of the Secretary of Transportation (OST)

Many of these agencies, especially FTA and FMCSA, also have security oversight and enforcement responsibilities as part of their regulatory functions. In addition, the Subcommittee has jurisdiction over certain provisions of the Clean Air Act pertaining to air quality compliance through the transportation planning and project development process administered by FHWA and FTA.

Recent Activity

Jan 7, 2016 Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Today, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Peter DeFazio (D-OR) and Ranking Member of the Highways and Transit Subcommittee Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) urged U.S.

Dec 8, 2015 Press Release

The House of Representatives today overwhelmingly approved the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act, five-year legislation to improve America’s roads, bridges, public transit, and rail transportation systems and reform federal surface transportation programs.

Dec 1, 2015 Press Release

The leaders of the House and Senate lead committees working to reach a bicameral, bipartisan agreement on surface transportation legislation released a joint statement today on the Conference Report for the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act.

Nov 5, 2015 Press Release

Following three days of debate, during which over 100 amendments were considered, the U.S. House of Representatives today overwhelmingly approved a bipartisan, multi-year surface transportation bill to reauthorize and reform federal highway, transit, and highway safety programs.

Nov 5, 2015 Press Release

The following members have been named conferees on the multi-year surface transportation bill overwhelmingly approved by the House today.

Jan 12, 2015 Press Release

Washington, D.C. –Today, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Peter DeFazio (D-OR) pushed back on a decision by the Department of Transportation (DOT) to open the United States border to Mexican-domiciled trucking companies.

Sep 13, 2012 Hearing

Subcommittee on Highways and Transit Hearing on “Evaluating the Effectiveness of DOT's Truck and Bus Safety Program”

Thursday, September 13, 2012; 10:00 AM

2167 Rayburn House Office Building



Subcommittee's Activity in Previous Congress