Addressing the Roadway Safety Crisis: Building Safer Roads for All

Subcommittee: Highways and Transit Date: Wednesday, June 8, 2022 Time: 10:00 AM Location: 2167 Rayburn House Office Building and Virtually


The purpose of this hearing is for Members of the Subcommittee to discuss the safety of our nation’s roadways, explore programs and policies included in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act to improve roadway safety, and learn from key stakeholders about their role in implementing these programs and other roadway safety strategies.


  1. The Honorable Elaine Clegg
    City Council President, Boise, Idaho
    on behalf of the National League of Cities
  2. Shawn Wilson
    Secretary, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development
    on behalf of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
  3. The Honorable Ludwig P. Gaines
    Executive Director
    Washington Area Bicyclist Association
  4. Billy Hattaway
    Fehr & Peers
  5. Cindy Williams
    President, Time Striping, Inc.
    Board of Directors Member, American Traffic Safety Services Association; on behalf of the American Traffic Safety Services Association