Examining Freight Rail Safety

Subcommittee: Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials Date: Tuesday, June 14, 2022 Time: 10:00 AM Location: 2167 Rayburn House Office Building and Virtually


The purpose of this hearing is to hear from government and stakeholder witnesses about the state of freight rail safety and issues pertinent to keeping rail operations, rail workers, and communities safe.


  1. The Honorable Amit Bose
    Federal Railroad Administration
  2. The Honorable Thomas B. Chapman
    National Transportation Safety Board
  3. Roy L. Morrison
    Director of Safety
    Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes Division; International Brotherhood of Teamsters
  4. Don Grissom
    Assistant General President
    Brotherhood of Railway Carmen Division; TCU/IAM
  5. Grady C. Cothen, Jr.
    Transportation Policy Consultant
  6. Nathan Bachman
    Vice President of Sales & Business Development
    Loram Technologies, Inc.
  7. Cindy Sanborn
    Chief Operating Officer; Safety & Operations Management Committee
    Norfolk Southern Corporation; Association of American Railroads
  8. Jeremy Ferguson
    Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, Transportation-Transportation Division