January 26, 2021

Chair DeFazio Announces Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee Chairs and Democratic Committee Roster

Washington, DC - Today, Chair of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Peter DeFazio (D-OR) announced the Committee’s Democratic roster for the 117th Congress, as well as the six subcommittee chairs and the full Committee Vice Chair, all of whom were approved by the Democrats on the Committee. In total, there will be 37 Democrats serving on the Committee, 36 of whom are named below. One spot remains open, pending selection by the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee.

The six subcommittees and their chairs are:

  • Subcommittee on Aviation: Chair Rick Larsen (WA-2)
  • Subcommittee on Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation: Chair Salud Carbajal (CA-24)
  • Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Buildings, and Emergency Management: Chair Dina Titus (NV-1)
  • Subcommittee on Highways and Transit: Chair Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
  • Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials: Chair Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ-10)
  • Subcommittee on Water Resources and Environment: Chair Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32)

Committee Democrats also selected Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-3) to serve as Vice Chair of the full Committee, a position reserved for Members who have been in Congress for fewer than five years.

“The Democratic Caucus of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure has selected leaders for each of our six subcommittees who aren’t afraid to think big and act boldly to meet our Nation’s infrastructure crisis head on,” Chair DeFazio said. “I look forward to working with our Subcommittee Chairs and all of our Democratic Members, both new and returning, who hail from all corners of the country and represent diverse districts and communities. Our work begins now to get transformational infrastructure legislation through Congress and signed into law in order to create millions of jobs, boost U.S. manufacturing, and address the climate crisis. I can’t wait to get started.”

The following Democratic Members are new to the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee:

Rep. Seth Moulton (MA-6)
Rep. Jake Auchincloss (MA-4)
Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-7)
Rep. Kaiali'i Kahele (HI-2)
Rep. Marilyn Strickland (WA-10)
Rep. Nikema Williams (GA-5)
Rep. Marie Newman (IL-3)

The following Democratic Members are returning to the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee:

Rep. Peter A. DeFazio (OR-4), Chair of the Full Committee
Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)
Rep. Rick Larsen (WA-2)
Rep. Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32)
Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-9)
Rep. Albio Sires (NJ-8)
Rep. John Garamendi (CA-3)
Rep. Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (GA-4)
Rep. André Carson (IN-7)
Rep. Dina Titus (NV-1)
Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)
Rep. Jared Huffman (CA-2)
Rep. Julia Brownley (CA-26)
Rep. Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24)
Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ-10)
Rep. Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11)
Rep. Stephen F. Lynch (MA-8)
Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA-24)
Rep. Anthony G. Brown (MD-4)
Rep. Tom Malinowski (NJ-7)
Rep. Greg Stanton (AZ-9)
Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32)
Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-3)
Rep. Jesús “Chuy” García (IL-4)
Rep. Antonio Delgado (NY-19)
Rep. Chris Pappas (NH-1)
Rep. Conor Lamb (PA-17)

To see and learn more about the Members of the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, click here.