January 22, 2013

Rahall Announces Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee Ranking Members

Washington, D.C.– U.S. Representative Nick J. Rahall (D-WV), Democratic Leader of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, today announced that the Committee Democratic Caucus has selected Subcommittee Ranking Members for each of its six panels.

“Our Committee Caucus has elected an outstanding group of Subcommittee Ranking Members who will bring to the table their experience, expertise and energy in addressing our Nation’s transportation needs,” said Rahall.  “I have had the pleasure of serving with each of them and know that they are committed to rebuilding our aging infrastructure and strengthening our transportation network in order to promote economic growth and create American jobs.  I look forward to working with them, as well as my friend Chairman Bill Shuster and all the Members of the Committee to confront these challenges in a comprehensive and bipartisan fashion.”

The Transportation and Infrastructure Committee has broad jurisdiction over the Nation’s highways, railways, airports, seaports, bus lines, and pipelines, as well as the Economic Development Administration, Appalachian Regional Commission, Coast Guard, Army Corps of Engineers, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and other crucial economic development programs. 

The complete Democratic Subcommittee rosters will be released following tomorrow’s full Transportation and Infrastructure Committee organizational meeting.  Listed below are the Democratic Subcommittee Ranking Members for the 113th Congress:

Subcommittee on Aviation: Rick Larsen (WA)

Subcommittee on Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation: John Garamendi (CA)

Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Buildings, & Emergency Management: Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)

Subcommittee on Highways and Transit: Peter A. DeFazio (OR)

Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials: Corrine Brown (FL)

Subcommittee on Water Resources and Environment: Timothy H. Bishop (NY)