July 20, 2023

Ranking Member Larsen Applauds Bipartisan Infrastructure Law for Strengthening Tribal Transportation Safety

Washington, D.C.— Today, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Rick Larsen (D-WA) released the following statement after the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) announced grant recipients for the Tribal Transportation Program Safety Fund (TTPSF). The program provides funding to federally recognized Indian Tribes to address transportation safety issues.
“From improving infrastructure for pedestrians and upgrading roadway design to updating transportation safety plans, today’s funding ensures Tribal communities nationwide can access the resources needed to build safe transportation infrastructure,” Ranking Member Larsen said. “Funding in my district for the Swinomish Indian Tribal community, Upper Skagit Indian Tribe, and Stillaguamish Tribe will enhance pedestrian safety, boost quality of life, and reduce traffic among other improvements. The Bipartisan Infrastructure Law continues to make historic investments in cleaner, greener, safer, and more accessible Tribal infrastructure.”
A complete list of Tribal Transportation Program Safety Fund recipients can be found here.