Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials

The Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials has jurisdiction over the economic and safety regulation of railroads and the agencies that administer those regulations.  Economic regulation is administered by the five-member Surface Transportation Board (STB).  This independent agency also has the authority to address national emergencies as they affect the nation’s rail transportation system.

The Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) is responsible for administering and overseeing railroad safety laws, railroad infrastructure and development programs, performing research and developing technology, and has federal oversight of Amtrak.

Amtrak is the nation’s major provider of intercity passenger rail service.  Also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corporation, Amtrak was established by law in 1970 and assumed the responsibility from private sector railroads for providing passenger rail services.  The Subcommittee continues to oversee efforts to increase efficiency and improve service in Amtrak’s operations.

The Subcommittee also has jurisdiction over the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, which is responsible for providing regulations and safety oversight of pipelines and pipeline facilities, as well as overseeing the transportation of hazardous materials.

Railroad retirement benefits and unemployment systems, as well as rail labor relations also fall under the jurisdiction of this subcommittee.

Issues and agencies under the jurisdiction of the Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials Subcommittee include:

  • Economic regulation of railroads
  • Surface Transportation Board (STB)
  • Railroad safety, including safety practices, equipment, and reporting
  • Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)
  • Railroad development programs, such as high-speed rail research and development
  • Rail infrastructure programs
  • Rail security
  • Amtrak
  • Amtrak Inspector General
  • Northeast Corridor Infrastructure and Operations Advisory Commission
  • Railroad retirement (regarding the benefit aspects) and unemployment
  • Railroad Retirement Board, which administers the retirement and unemployment programs unique to railroads
  • Railroad Retirement Board Inspector General
  • National Railroad Retirement Investment Trust
  • Railway Labor Act
  • The National Mediation Board, which administers the Railway Labor Act
  • Federal Employers’ Liability Act, which is the railroad worker-compensation statute
  • Hazardous materials transportation
  • Pipeline transportation safety
  • Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)

The House Subcommittee on

Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials

Ranking Member

Donald M. Payne Jr.

NJ 10


  • Frederica S. Wilson - FL 24 Picture of Frederica S. Wilson
  • Seth  Moulton  - MA 6 Picture of Seth  Moulton
  • Troy Carter - LA 02 Picture of Troy Carter
  • André Carson - IN 07 Picture of André Carson
  • Mark DeSaulnier - CA 11 Picture of Mark DeSaulnier
  • Marilyn Strickland  - WA 10 Picture of Marilyn Strickland
  • Vice Ranking Member Valerie Foushee - NC 4 Picture of Valerie Foushee
  • Grace F. Napolitano - CA 32 Picture of Grace F. Napolitano
  • Steve Cohen - TN 09 Picture of Steve Cohen
  • Henry C.  Johnson. Jr. - GA 04 Picture of Henry C.  Johnson. Jr.
  • Jared Huffman - CA 02 Picture of Jared Huffman
  • Jesús  García  - IL 4 Picture of Jesús  García
  • Rob Menendez - NJ 8 Picture of Rob Menendez
  • Rick Larsen (Ex Officio) - WA 2 Picture of Rick Larsen (Ex Officio)


Troy E. Nehls

TX 22


  • Brian Babin - TX 36 Picture of Brian Babin
  • David Rouzer - NC 07 Picture of David Rouzer
  • Mike Bost - IL 12 Picture of Mike Bost
  • Doug LaMalfa - CA 01 Picture of Doug LaMalfa
  • Bruce Westerman - AR 04 Picture of Bruce Westerman
  • Pete Stauber - MN 08 Picture of Pete Stauber
  • Tim Burchett - TN 02 Picture of Tim Burchett
  • Dusty Johnson - SD AL Picture of Dusty Johnson
  • Lance Gooden - TX 5 Picture of Lance Gooden
  • Tracey Mann - KS 1 Picture of Tracey Mann
  • Rudy Yakym - IN 2 Picture of Rudy Yakym
  • Tom Kean, Jr. - NJ 21 Picture of Tom Kean, Jr.
  • Brandon Williams - NY 22 Picture of Brandon Williams
  • Marc Molinaro - NY 19 Picture of Marc Molinaro
  • John Duarte - CA 13 Picture of John Duarte
  • Sam Graves (Ex Officio) - MO 06 Picture of Sam Graves (Ex Officio)