September 07, 2016

Congressional Transportation Leaders Announce Selection of the Buses and Bus Facilities Competitive Grants Award Winners

U.S. Reps. Bill Shuster (R-PA) and Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Chairman and Ranking Member of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, and U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Ranking Member of the Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee, today released the following joint statement on the selection of the Buses and Bus Facilities Competitive Grants award winners by the Federal Transit Administration:

“The FAST Act provided clear direction to the Federal Transit Administration: use federal resources to address critical public transportation needs. The Buses and Bus Facilities Competitive Grants were created by Congress to give public transportation systems across the Nation a valuable tool to address the repair and replacement needs of their bus fleets. These competitively awarded grants will fund projects that will ensure safer, more efficient public transportation for a diverse collection of communities throughout the country.”

Through the FAST Act, signed into law on December 4, 2015, Congress reformed the federal Buses and Bus Facilities Program, and provided an 89 percent increase in dedicated funding for buses and bus facility needs, through both stable, long-term formula funding, as well as targeted competitive grants.  The FAST Act also reformed federal procurement requirements to reward innovation and ensure federal investments are made wisely.

More information about the Buses and Bus Facilities Competitive Grants award winners can be found here.