January 18, 2024

Ranking Member Larsen Applauds Investments in EV Infrastructure, Made Possible by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law

WASHINGTON, DC— Today, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Rick Larsen (D-WA) applauded the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) for awarding nearly $150 million to 24 grant recipients to upgrade or replace nearly 4,500 electric vehicle (EV) chargers.

“The Bipartisan Infrastructure Law continues to build and rebuild EV infrastructure to make electric vehicles more accessible for drivers, while reducing pollution and creating jobs,” Ranking Member Larsen said. “In my state of Washington and across the country, this game-changing funding is electrifying communities and making our roads cleaner, greener, safer and more accessible.”

Additional Information:
This funding is a part of the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Formula Program, newly created by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law. For more information, click here. This announcement comes on the heels of the FHWA awarding $623 million in funding through the Charging and Fueling Infrastructure (CFI) grant program to 47 projects across the country, creating publicly accessible electric vehicle (EV) chargers. For more information, click here.