March 17, 2023

Ranking Member Larsen Statement on the Introduction of the Sykes-Johnson Rail Safety Legislation

Everett, WA—Today, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Rick Larsen (D-WA) issued the following statement after Representatives Emilia Sykes and Bill Johnson introduced the RAIL Act of 2023. 
“The public should not be forced to bear the costs of train derailments,” Ranking Member Larsen said. “I applaud the leadership of Representatives Emilia Sykes and Bill Johnson who have worked tirelessly on bipartisan safety improvements so that the tragic situation unfolding in East Palestine is never repeated. I look forward to advancing this proposal and others designed to protect communities, strengthen rail safety, and hold operators accountable.”