April 02, 2024

Ranking Members Larsen and Payne, Jr. Applaud FRA Final Rule on Train Crew Size Safety Requirements

WASHINGTON, DC— Today, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Rick Larsen (D-WA) and Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ) applauded the Federal Railroad Administration’s (FRA) issuance of a final rule establishing a minimum requirement for two person crews. 
“Trains should be operated at the highest level of safety and allowing trains to do so with only a single worker is incompatible with that goal,” the Ranking Members said. “That’s why we strongly support the Department of Transportation’s announcement today that they are moving forward to require two person crews. Our trains, and the communities they run through every day, will be safer for it.”